Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

RAVE valve is melted....

Hello,

I just bought a 97 seadoo Xp with the 787 motor. I am new to this whole jetski thing, but i am learning fairly quicky. so, my jetski seems to be bogging down when i take off from a dead stop everytime after i start the thing, so i figured id take out the RAVE valves and clean them. underneath the caps was all oil and gunk, i also noticed that all the plastic underneath one of the caps was completely melted away! any clue what could have melted the bottom plastic part of the rave valve? and is this a big problem?

any info at all would be greatly appreciated.

PWCToday Regular

Re: RAVE valve is melted....

Same problem last year. I had the o-ring installed wrong caused the plastic to melt. Is the metal valve melted yet? As far as damage piston rings on mine where smashed from the rave Eventually lead to the rave valve stem breaking and falling into the cylinder. You can buy rebuild kits from the web.

I doubt the bog is from the melted valve.

Add me to the list of poeple who have had this problem. It caused a boggin situation on mine but not from a dead stop. If I went fast for a while the coasted or cruised and hammered the throttle again it would almost stall. I don't know what the connection was but it came and went with the valve problem.

I was told that the stems can gets loose in the housings and allow too much hot air in. I could see how a failed o-ring could cause this too or a leaky bellow. Mine finally melted to the point where the spring pushed thru it.

Exhaust valves: the best and worst things that have ever happened to a 2-stroke engine.

maybe ill just rebuild them both and then see what happens. but i also noiced that there is alot of oil around where the valves are on the top of the engine. is that normal? and in an unrelated question, does anyone know exactly how to correctly set the oil/fuel mixture pin?