Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    suprbuick7

Honda F-12X Turbo Problem

Hello Forum,
    Newbie here 2002 Honda F-12x turbo purchased new in 2003, 120 hrs.I 've been riding for over 10 years on various Kawasaki jet skis (tandem Sport,?) I ride @ Jersey shore ( yes mostly a Salt water ride). F-12x is stored in climate controlled warehouse and winteized. Upon start up for my 1st ride this summer was getting a code F-1 and the motor leaks/ spews oil when under load, not while running in the driveway on the garden hose! Thought there was too much oil in the engine, not the case. Took it to a honda dealer in NJ and on the phone service guy said either rear main seal or the turbo was blown ( he quoted me @$2500 for a new turbo and labor) I own a Buick GN turbo charged This seems alittle steep. There is no upgrade turbo so wouldn't a turbo rebuild be ok versus new? anyone have a similar problem?
    TIA

Jon

Re: Honda F-12X Turbo Problem

Talk to NITRO.
    2004 Honda Aquatrax F-12X- K&N air filter, Turbo XS RFL BOV, Gaffrig boost gauge, R&D sponsons

2004 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport, Inertia forged hemi, 6.1l crank, Manley flat top pistons 9:5:1 compression, K1 rods, ARP main bolts-head studs, 6.1l springs-retainers-push rods-oil pump, Inertia turbo cam, intercooler, sts turbo, T76 Turbonetics, ATF Speed 5-45 RFE transmission, ATF billet triple disc lock-up converter, 15% UD ATI Damper, Mopar headers,
    405rwhp/491 lbs. rwtq at 6.5 lbs of boost

anglerfx

My friends ski had somewhat of a similar problem but his wasnt leaking oil it was leaking water into the engine. The dealer charged around 2500 bucks, like you said, but to Honda. He had ext. warranty. As a matter of fact he also has a 87 GN. i think I saw some where in here that you can rebuilt it for around 300-400 bucks.

suprbuick7

bump?

Frequent Poster