Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» Jobs

» wallpapers

PWCToday Newbie

550sx crank question

Hi everyone, new guy here. I recently bought a 1991 Kawasaki 550sx for a winter project. First job is rebuilding the engine and first part of that is rebuilding the crank. Wondering if anyone has specs for rebuilding these cranks (runout, phasing, clearances, etc) or any tips to help the job go smoothly. It's my first attempt at rebuilding a pressed together crank so any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help

Phill

PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home WFO Speedracer's Avatar

Re: 550sx crank question

unless you have some way of putting that crankshaft back in phase , you best leave it to someone who does.
    Y'all know me, still the same O.G. but I been low-key
    hated on by most these &^$$@s with no cheese, no deals and no G's, no wheels and no keys, no boats, no snowmobiles, and no skis, mad at me cause I can finally afford to provide my family with groceries

WWSRD , What would Speed Racer do ?

PWCToday Newbie

That won't be a problem. I've been a machinist for 20 years, if we don't have something in the shop I can make it. I'm really just looking for any specs I can find on this crank so I don't have to go by what it measured before I pressed it apart.

Phill

Yeah I would just leave it to somebody like group k or SBT… no matter how many years you’ve been a machinist you’ve never done 550 crank. Better to just leave it to a company that’s been doing 30+ years

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home bandit88's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Carter.104 View Post
    Yeah I would just leave it to somebody like group k or SBT… no matter how many years you’ve been a machinist you’ve never done 550 crank. Better to just leave it to a company that’s been doing 30+ years

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk