• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jsmob
    PWCToday Newbie
    • Jun 2019

Yamaha VX - Compression - Valves

Hope all are well.
    Got the 2010 VX out of storage this year and had a bit of an issue with starting/idle. Tried the normal things and have ignition and fuel. Replaced plugs, resistance checked coils, removed and tested/cleaned injectors, among others, you know the normal things. Realized I was dealing with a little deeper issue I moved to compression testing. Happy camper when I see 190 psi on the first three. When I get to the last and final cylinder - 0 psi!!
    From here, I know I at least have one or more open stuck valves, and possibly some dreaded valve damage.
    If anyone has some guidance from here on these engines, I would be much obliged.
    I studied the forums and see where at least one advised that it's not quite time to pull the engine, instead one suggested that removing the valve cover, some had used an undivulged method of unsticking valves.
    Have a good knowledge base on rebuilds and have removed some heads for rebuild, no problem. Just looking to see what guidance y'all might offer first on these OHC motors with this issue. I have access to the shop manual. Thank you!
  • jsmob
    PWCToday Newbie
    • Jun 2019

Re: Yamaha VX - Compression - Valves

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0745.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	530.5 KB
ID:	4381528
    Here's a pic of what I think it is from the topside (valve cover off). This is one of the intake valves that once the lobe is off of it from the camshaft, it is still down! Stuck. Any thoughts? In the picture the adjacent "valve pad" demonstrates the approx. location it should be - it's the other intake valve for the same cylinder.
    Very pleased at how clean everything looks and nice oil coat in here.

Comment

• jsmob
      PWCToday Newbie
      • Jun 2019

Sorry these are the exhaust valves!

Comment

• Mxzx
        Frequent Poster
        • May 2008