Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» Jobs

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    PWCToday Guru

Never raced but interested in signing up

Hello,

I've been riding standup skis for 6 years now. I have a 550sx and two stock Superjets including a new 2017 I picked up recently. I would like to race on it.

I went to JetJam's series in Mossdale this past weekend to get a feel for how the races are set up. It was a lot more intense than I expected, even for GP4 which seems like the starting class.

What are the rules for GP4? I think I am targeting Ski GP4, which says 'stock only', but none of the skis looked stock. Only other info just says 2 stroke max 800cc's. I would like to keep my ski stock and am wondering if that is going to be at all competitive, or if some minimum modifications are pretty much needed? I don't see how a 701 can compete with 800cc's.

Full face helmet and goggles -- I can just wear my Shoei dirt helmet and goggles? Looks like what most people were wearing.
    I already have a USCG life jacket, lanyards, gloves, shoes.

What else do I need to know, or is there a good beginner primer writeup around here?

How does tech inspection work?

Unfortunately I think I will have to wait until 2019 since Camp Far West and Mossdale already passed and I only found out about JetJam last week.

Thanks.

Re: Never raced but interested in signing up

Only thing else you need is back protection for standup racers.
    Jet Jam will be at Lake Success near Porterville last weekend in July.
    Good luck.
    Last edited by SKISURFONE; 07-17-2018 at 04:41 AM. Reason: Additional info
    RACING IS A GOOD EXCUSE FOR MORE TIME ON THE WATER.

PWCToday Guru

What is the typical option for back protection? I see Jettribe makes one that seems to have good attachment points for the vest.

I saw the round at Lake Success, that's about 4 hours away for me though. Considering it...

Quote Originally Posted by mbrick View Post
    Hello,