Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» Jobs

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Crank No Start No Spark Troubleshooting Decision Tree '94 701 SN SJ

Towed my wife in today on her 1994 701cm square nose Superjet. Crank no start. No spark.

Spark plugs are wet with fuel. New spark plugs, same crank no start. No spark. HEI spark plug tester and regular spark plug tester, no spark.

I recently rebuilt the distributor in my '95 Ford Bronco 5.8L after I diagnosed that the stator was not sending the PIP signal to the Ignition Control Module to signal the coil to fire (even after the PCM was taken out of the loop by removing the SPOUT (spark output)) jumper from the circuit.

I am not an engineer. I am dumb as a box of rocks. But troubleshootmyvehicle.com and autodiagnostics.com allowed me to methodically follow a troubleshooting decision tree to isolate the ignition problem without throwing parts at it.

I own the Shop Manual for the 94-95 Superjet, but it is rudimentary at best. So, who of the engineers among you have a troubleshooting decision tree for diagnosing a crank no start no spark condition in a '94 701cm Superjet?
    Last edited by E350; 07-08-2017 at 12:29 AM.

Re: Crank No Start No Spark Troubleshooting Decision Tree '94 701 SN SJ

Unplug the kill switch and try, if not...id check to see if coil was getting a trigger, so I'd look for some sort of wave on the coil power and ground, would look like fluctuating on fluke meter, if not I'd look for power to cdi, if so I'd prob ohm the coil across plug wires and coil wires, of good I'd suspect trigger coil on stator, so ohm it, if good I'd check the output, anoth wave sig of some sort all the time checking for values in the manual. Only time I've had no spark it's been kill switch or cdi.