pxctoday

» Log in

User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» Jobs

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Adding a tach

  1. #1
    PWCToday Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68

    Adding a tach

    Hey guys.

    Finally got this thing running right. It's a 1999 ts 770 which means it has just a lonely fuel Guage. I'm not worried about a speedometer, but I do like to glance at a tach. Can I buy a tach off a different 99 770,such as a tsl 770 and adapt it over? Are the wiring harness' the same to be a plug and play? If not, is there an easy way to tie it into a coil wire or something? I know there are other options, such as the Trail tech tto and tiny tach, but I like the oem look of the oem tach.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    PWCToday Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68

    Re: Adding a tach

    Just an update if anyone has the same question. I ended up grabbing a new tigershark guage off ebay for 9.99! Got lucky there. Waiting for it to ship, I started looking around.

    According to my service manual, coming out of the CDI is a yellow wire that goes to a 4 pin connector to connect various things. The difference I see is that on a 770 r the yellow wire continues after that connector where as on my ts770, the wire terminates. Upon looking, I infact have a yellow wire that terminated at the listed connector. This should be the correct wire.

    I will inform if it works or not.

  3. #3
    PWCToday's first Tigershark owner Moderator
    PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home
    lownrangr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I can hold up my hand and point to where I live. Can you?
    Posts
    10,428

    Re: Adding a tach

    you can always go with a Tiny Tach. It's digital and it also doubles as an hour meter.
    Region 6

    Shark Bait
    #713
    My race boats:
    1999 Tigershark 1100R (ret.)
    Novice 1200 Stock
    1996 XP
    800 Limited/2 Stroke Limited

    2015 Achievements
    1st Place Overall 2 Stroke Limited on the CWA CanAm Tour
    7th Place at World Finals Am R/A 1000 SS
    7th Place at World Finals Pro-Am 1000 SS
    Thank you to my sponsors: GoPro, AMSOIL, Riva Racing, Incase, Shorai, ODI Grips, and Ryno Power.
    Check out my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TripleLRacing/

  4. #4
    PWCToday Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68

    Re: Adding a tach

    I was looking at the Tiny Tach, but wanted it to look OEM. If one didn't mind the look of the TT, then that is for sure the way to go!

  5. #5
    PWCToday Regular PsychoSchematic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    WI
    Age
    34
    Posts
    140

    Re: Adding a tach

    The cdi is set up for it, but you are correct your hull harness wont have the wiring. Youll have to rin it from the cdi to the tach. I ran into this when i swapped complete engine and electrical from a monte carlo into a daytona.
    1997 TigerShark Daytona 1000: Arctic Cat green, hydroturf, Beach House sponsons, TDR exhaust, 16/21 Skat Trak Slimline impeller, 1100R steering nozzle. More to come

    1999 TSR 1100

    1994 TigerShark Barracuda: Solas Super Camber impeller, Black Magic intake grate, Rend ride plate, JRE Lightweight Flywheel, DG Tri-Oval waterbox, beach house.

  6. #6
    I dream skis
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    PA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    761

    Re: Adding a tach

    I did both, though the console tach wasn't A-C. I used the Tiny Tach for counting off the 10 hours between shaft greasings. It didn't read rpm correctly with the wasted spark ignition.

  7. #7
    PWCToday Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68

    Re: Adding a tach

    Quote Originally Posted by rdjeep View Post
    I did both, though the console tach wasn't A-C. I used the Tiny Tach for counting off the 10 hours between shaft greasings. It didn't read rpm correctly with the wasted spark ignition.
    A thought on that... With the wasted spark, both plugs fire at once, so essentially 2 fires per complete single piston cycle... Couldn't you set the tint tach to rest as a 1 cylinder motor, get get a more accurate reading?

  8. #8
    I dream skis
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    PA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    761

    Re: Adding a tach

    The tach I bought may not have been a "Tiny", its been a while now. Mine did not have a setting option, and I didn't know about the wasted spark set-up. Live and learn. I prefer the analog gauge, easier to see on the bouncing water. As far as setting, I would agree setting for 1 cylinder may do it. My little tach is mounted on the electrical box, for service-only type viewing.

  9. #9
    PWCToday Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    28
    Posts
    68

    Re: Adding a tach

    Quote Originally Posted by rdjeep View Post
    The tach I bought may not have been a "Tiny", its been a while now. Mine did not have a setting option, and I didn't know about the wasted spark set-up. Live and learn. I prefer the analog gauge, easier to see on the bouncing water. As far as setting, I would agree setting for 1 cylinder may do it. My little tach is mounted on the electrical box, for service-only type viewing.
    Wow after reading my prior post I should not be permitted to post on weeknights after 9pm. It didn't even make sense!

    I, like you, much rather prefer an analog gauge. My VXR has all digital gauges and I would kill for an actual speedo and tach on that.

    I might just pick up a tiny tach to see if a 1 cylinder setting would work. In theory it does.

  10. #10
    PWCToday Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1

    Re: Adding a tach

    Hey! Sorry to raise a thread from the dead, but did you ever get the OE looking tach figured out? I just bought a 96 monte carlo 770 (and am new to the forums) and have been seeing a lot of instrument clusters with tachs from other models that look about the same shape and size, just with the 3rd gauge for the tach. If anyone has any new information or suggestions I'd love to hear them! Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.0