• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • aquaman222
    PWCToday Regular
    • May 2006

Substitute for Loctite 518 and Loctite 592

I can't find two products I need to rebuild the pump on my 1996 XP. Loctite 518 Gasket Eliminator and Loctite 592 Pipe Sealant with Teflon.

What is a readily available substitute at a local Autozone, Advance or Oreilly autoparts stores?

518 is referred to on Page 217 of the shop manual for the seal housing and seat.
    592 is referred to on Page 220 of the shop manual "apply loctite 592 on threads of the fitting tool. I believe this only refers to pressurizing the pump to test for leaks, but if it is completely rebuilt, I should not have any leaks.

I'm driving you guys crazy, but this is my first time having to work on a ski and I'm doing ok for a novice, but I just can't afford to screw anything up. I've already spent more than I planned on this ski and the wife is going to hang me if it doesn't get on the water soon.

You've all been a big help, especially Mr. Bill. I wish I could just download his brain. Thanks for everything.
  • smoofers
    Resident Guru
    • Jul 2006

Re: Substitute for Loctite 518 and Loctite 592

Check and see if you have a Fastenal in your area. They regularly stock both.
    SAC Racing
    2010 R5 Water X Racing - Rider of the Year

2011 R5 Water X Racing Beer Pong Tournament Co-Champion

Comment

• aquaman222
      PWCToday Regular
      • May 2006

Is that a store or a brand? And what version of Fastenal if its a brand?

Comment

• smoofers
        Resident Guru
        • Jul 2006

It is a store, they sell industrial supplies, hardware etc.

SAC Racing
        2010 R5 Water X Racing - Rider of the Year

2011 R5 Water X Racing Beer Pong Tournament Co-Champion

Comment

• jerrspud
          PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home
          • Aug 2008

try a dealer if you want the exact stuff. I got some 517 (about the same as 518) from Tacoma Screw
          Jerr
          SeaDoo FAQs
          Kawi FAQs