User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» wallpapers

PWCToday Newbie

Wet Jet Duo 300 '95 - zx Kraze Question

Hi, I am a newbie to the site and not a mechanic. We just bought a used Wet Jet ('95 Wet Jet Duo 300 ZX Kraze) from a friend. It ran great twice! This past week-end we took it out, it ran great for 10 minutes then it cut out. It would start and then cut out. Then, we were able to "nurse it" back to shore. We didn't know not to idle a jet ski - it had idled about 8 minutes but ran after that. We changed the spark plugs. We did find it had sucked up some fishing line. I think we got it all out but not sure. My husband can put his hand up and turn it just a bit but then it gets stuck. I don't know if this is normal or not. It will run - but it doesn't get any power. Starts fine. Any idea on what to look at would be so appreciated! Am I right to think it can't be anything to major if it still runs? Thanks in advance!

Pooski

PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home Laserman's Avatar

Re: Wet Jet Duo 300 '95 - zx Kraze Question

Not many people are familiar with your ski - I don't think I've ever seen one...

But here's some general info: It doesn't take much debris\fishing line\etc. to kill a skis "get-up-and-go".

You should be able to get underneath there and inspect the front side of the pump.

You can remove the intake grate if it helps with access.

You can also inspect the rear of the pump by looking through the steering nozzle with a bright flashlight.

If there is even the smallest amount of fishing line around the shaft, it will affect the ski.

Hope this helps!
    1985 JS 550/750 Stand-up: http://www.pwctoday.com/f72/smileys-...50-114680.html
    1984 JS550 TYPHOON 750 conversion: http://www.pwctoday.com/f72/laserman...ct-186297.html
    1992 Sport Cruiser "Sportscar" Conversion: http://www.pwctoday.com/f72/laserman...-a-173049.html