Not a member yet?
Register Now!

» Find OEM Parts

» Jobs

» wallpapers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    PWCToday Newbie

1997 Tigershark Bendix replacement - question

Hi: I am new to PWC's and I'm new to this forum. I bought a package of two 1997 Tigershark's, a 770 and a 1000. Although the seller started them for a second at HIS house, the very first time I tried to start them at my home, the 770 would not start.

The starter actuates, but does not engage the bendix. It whirls, spins, or whatever, but the PWC does not turn over.

Reading this forum points to the need for a new bendix. I found one on eBay and I'm in the process of installing it myself. I read one of your posts where it explained the replacement the bendix, but I have a question.

The front cover has a plug that unscrews to verify fluid levels. When I removed the front cover, only a very small amount of greasy, thick liquid rested in the bottom of the cover. Am I supposed to add anything other than a lot of marine grease to the bendix itself? Am I supposed to add any oil, lube, grease, or any other lubricant to the inside of the cover after it is reinstalled?

Please reply if you can. Thank you.

Richard
    Regards,
    Richard
    ArcadeNut@aol.com

Blog Entries

Re: 1997 Tigershark Bendix replacement - question

add nothing.. its a timing inspection hole

I use just a little moly or synthetic grease to the bendix and reassemble it. Clean the crud out of the bottom of your front cover and make sure it makes a watertight seal when putting it back together.

Also remove the bellows under the starter and plug the hole. Then go out and thrash it!!

PWCToday's first Tigershark owner Moderator
    PWCToday.com Is My Home Away From Home
    I can hold up my hand and point to where I live. Can you?

before i installed my new bendix in my 1100, i think i sprayed it down with wd-40 just for ****s and giggles. I don't know if it helped any but, it can't hurt i guess. Fluid Film would work even better.